canning… stewed rhubarb

02Jul13

Mom brought a HUGE bunch of rhubarb that weekend in May / June. I took a bit less than half and pickled them and then stewed the rest using a basic recipe from the National Centre for Home Preservation:

http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_02/rhubarb_stewed.html

I think I had used about 4 cups of chopped rhubarb and it cooked down to a little over one full 500mL pint jar. I remember being surprised at how much rhubarb I had to stew compared with how little stewed rhubarb I had at the end. Thinking back, I must have filled this jar to the fill line (1/2″ headspace) because I had some stewed rhubarb leftover to put on ice cream for Bryan’s birthday. As the jar is clearly not completely full in this pic, it looks like there was some product loss during processing. I also completely forgot to be good about removing air bubbles. Oops.

Image

(Marisa from Food In Jars says that air bubbles are generally no big deal. See her post about them here: http://foodinjars.com/2011/10/canning-101-air-bubbles-in-finished-products/)

No Responses Yet to “canning… stewed rhubarb”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

