canning… pickled asparagus with pickling spice

02Jul13

Image

Back in May asparagus was fresh and in season. Week after week we received bunches in our organics box, so one weekend I decided to get out the canning jars and do some pickling. I found a recipe on Food In Jars (my fav canning site): http://foodinjars.com/2009/04/pickled-asparagu/

I followed the recipe exactly using Club House Pickling spice, which lists the following spices (in order): mustard seed, coriander, bay leaves, dill seed, fenugreek, cinnamon, ginger, allspice, red better, black pepper, cloves. I cut the asparagus in springs to fit the height of the jar and could fill two 500mL pint jars with tall springs and then used the odds and ends to fill one more jar (picture above).

Bryan and I ate one jar and I gave one jar to my dad for father’s day. Dad loved them and asked for more. I thought they were pretty good, but this recipe is what made me figure out (with Bryan’s help) that I don’t like mustard and that is probably why I grew up avoiding all things pickled. Now that I’ve pinned that down, I’ll be avoiding pickling anything with mustard!

No Responses Yet to “canning… pickled asparagus with pickling spice”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

