Thoughts on photography

05Jun10

I’ve decided to take a film camera to china. It’s going to be interesting. Me, a photo major who has not taken a photograph since graduating 3 years ago and who during my last (thesis) year of school concentrated on cameraless photo based work, to suddenly be back in picture taking mode. Scratch that. I don’t think I’ve really truely been in picture taking mode and I hate taking pictures of people. Maybe my travels to the most populous nation should not be where I decide to be a people photographer. That may send me into the throws (throes?) of a panic attack. But it is a vacation. Maybe I’ll travel as someone other than myself; someone who takes pictures of people.

Also, I’ve been thinking of getting a Diana camera and using up all my old film from art school. I’d get a thing so I can use 35 and 120. And it seems fitting to use a cheaply made toy camera to document my travels to the land of cheaply made toys.

No Responses Yet to “Thoughts on photography”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

